Home > Uncategorized > Black Eyed Peas Stealing Music?

Black Eyed Peas Stealing Music?

                In this article, it essentially shows how the Black Eyed Peas allegedly stole music from a group named Freeland.  Now there are a lot of things that I’ve considered after reading the article.  Firstly, is there actually enough proof to say the Black Eyed Peas did steal their music?  I’ve just seen two tracks and I feel like it’s a he said she said kind of deal.  My other point is that even if they did steal the music, how big of a deal is it?

                My first point is that just by reading this and a few other articles, I do not see any proof that sways me in one way or the other.  The tracks do sound very similar, there’s no doubt about that but I still think there needs to be more proof to sway me, let alone a judge and jury.  Next, how big of a deal is this?  I feel like the Black Eyed Peas song isn’t all that popular and the beat really isn’t all that exceptional.  I don’t really think all too much money was lost and Freeland just wants some money out of this.

                I’m not too much of a fan of copyright law and this doesn’t seem like it’s all that big of a deal.

 

Works cited

  1. http://thedailyswarm.com/swarm/did-black-eyed-peas-steal-freelands-mancry/
  2. http://newsflash.bigshotmag.com/?p=4138
Categories: Uncategorized
  1. marceycook
    October 6, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    I also came across these articles, but I chose not to blog on them because I wasn’t really sure what exactly happened. All the articles I researched didn’t provide that much information. Do you know what in the songs were similar?

  2. kiannaisamazing
    October 7, 2009 at 10:23 pm

    One thing to know about the Black Eyed Peas, particularly Will.I.Am, is that this is not the first case like this. Will.I.Am has been accused in the past of copying concepts from Daft Punk and other artists. To be honest, I am not in the least surprised that someone is claiming infringement against the Black Eyed Peas because it seems to be a trend in the music industry. Either the entire group or just one of the members is accused, but it seems like I see new articles every week involving copyright infringement and the Black Eyed Peas. Not the best reputation to have, to be honest. I have never really been a fan of their music, but it makes me enjoy them even less knowing they have potentially stolen a concept from another artist. I don’t respect that at all.

  3. amy dowd
    October 16, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    I feel like small bands or singers are constantly looking for popular songs that are out and seeing if any of their songs are alike. It seems as if copyrighting law suits always work out in the favor of the party that says the other party isn’t following copyrighted laws. Is this right?
    On the other hand if I was a local artist that wasn’t making a lot of money and a big time person stole my music I would be pretty upset too.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment